Netflix Offerings for September

By: Graesyn Fenix

Welcome to September, which means new shows on Netflix to binge! Yaaay! These are the top 5 reasons I’m excited for this month’s new offerings:

The IT Crowd (Series 5)- Hey they got the team back together! Apparently in 2013 they did bring back the team to do one final episode (for now? Yeah, Chris Dowd is busy doing movies and such now…I mean I’d love more of this show but I think that’s all behind him now). But any excuse to watch (and rewatch) this gem is one I’m happy for. If you haven’t caught this one yet and you have any kind of computer knowledge, I highly recommend it, just make sure you’re watching the BBC episodes, not the American re-makes.

Jaws… ALL THE JAWS!!!- Yeah I’m not going to break these down although it goes without saying that I’m the most excited about the original Jaws. I swear I’ve seen that movie about 100 times and I really don’t care, I’ll still watch it. Shark Week is over, but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy some popcorn and crazy New Englanders! I think I’m gonna need a bigger bag of popcorn.

Penny Dreadful (Season 3)- Hey Netflix, thanks for paying attention to my current binge watching and giving me a new season! I’m about done with season 2 and was wondering where I was going to LEGALLY obtain season 3, well now I don’t have to worry about that, do I. Come to me you creepy creatures of the night, I adore what you’re doing here!

Zootopia- DON’T JUDGE ME! I can’t help it that the sloth bit looks highly entertaining. Besides, healthy doses of children’s movies are like good for you or something, right?

River- I’ve heard things. Good things! I’m also just about done with The Night Of and need a new crime drama in my life and what better way to get that than with a nice, new, BBC murder production about a cop who sees the ghost of his murdered partner.

Honorable Mention:

Marvel’s Luke Cage- Okay, I really liked Daredevil. I’m fully on board with Punisher. I’m loving the way Netflix is giving us these superheros in nicely packaged season driven bows. But if it wasn’t for David Tennant I would have completely and totally hated Jessica Jones. I get that the season all start a bit slow and pick up after the 3rd episode or so, and I can be okay with that, but damn was she boring as hell. I will say though that I’m glad they didn’t just go running with the comic 100% because the first 2 volumes of Jessica Jones, well, they sucked. We meet Luke Cage during the Jessica Jones series, and that’s why i’m only luke warm (get it, get it??) on this one right now. I’ll give it a go, but I really hope the writing is better.

If you want the full list of what’s coming to Netflix and when for the month of September, go check it out at DigitalTrends.com.

Leave a Reply

