My 5 Favorite Non-Horror Halloween Movies (Because Everything Scares Me)

My friends just can’t seem to figure me out, I’m a bit on the creepy side, I’m what remains of a high school goth/grunge girl from the 90’s, I listen to true crime podcasts like I require them to sustain life, I like zombies! All that, but I will NOT watch things like Nightmare on Elm Street, Jason scares me, Saw is just right out! I’ve been told I’m a walking contradiction and every time someone tries to figure me out, I confuse them more.

So what is a girl like me supposed to watch during this most sacred and wonderful time of year? Here are 5 options that are almost always on in my house during the month of October.

Hocus Pocus (1993)

This movie is classic! Yeah sure it’s a family or kids movie, but let’s face it, it’s great. If you’re a kid you love it for the youngsters, if you’re an adult who remembers this movie coming out you love it for the Sanderson sisters, and if you’re my dad you just love Billy the zombie. It’s a pretty typical tale, young virgin lights a candle that calls forth the Sanderson sisters from beyond the grave. Can the kids who woke the witches stop them before their reign of terror is complete? It’s a cute little adventure that just screams of nostalgia and fun.

Ghostbusters (1984)

Do you want ghosts? We’ve got spooks, specters, ghost, and even a twinkie. These guys have degrees in parapsychology and psychology, and they’re not afraid of no ghosts. Certainly a funny flick with some great comedy genius, but unless you’re freaked out by a giant marshmallow man, you won’t be getting any nightmares from this one.

Beetlejuice (1988)

Don’t say his name three times, or he just might come for your daughter, Chuck. A small town couple finds themselves recently deceased and isn’t too thrilled with the New York family who moves into their house after they’re gone. They could try to scare them out themselves, or they could rely on the freelancer Bio-Exorcist, Beetlejuice! There’s not a whole lot of scare in this flick about the ghost with the most, although fair warning you may not look at shrimp cocktail the same after you knock three times.

Young Frankenstein (1974)

This one is a little bittersweet this year with the recent passing of Gene Wilder, but don’t let that stop you from enjoying this slightly altered telling of Frankenstein’s Monster. After finding his grandfather’s notes on resurrecting the dead, Frederick Frankenstein and his assistants bring forth their own Monster. This is just a brilliant movie with a brilliant cast, and if you haven’t seen it, do yourself a favor and give it a shot. Be prepared for lots of laughs, and not a lot of scares.

It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown (1966)

Are you a little short on time but want to get into that Halloween spirit? Well get out to the pumpkin patch and pay homage to the Great Pumpkin! This one is pretty straightforward, but it’s one I grew up on, so why not spread the word of a childhood classic. It’s Charlie Brown and the gang taking part in good old Halloween tradition like trick or treating and bobbing for apples, and let’s not forget to wait for the arrival of the Great Pumpkin! “Tonight the Great Pumpkin will rise out of the pumpkin patch. He flies through the air and brings toys to all the children of the world.” Seems legit, Linus!

(Yeah, I know. I left off Nightmare Before Christmas because, well, frankly to me that’s a Christmas movie.)

What are some of your not-so-scary movie picks for Halloween?

One thought on “My 5 Favorite Non-Horror Halloween Movies (Because Everything Scares Me)

Leave a Reply

