Meet the Geeks: Our Favorite Christmas Movies

Some people say you can learn a great deal about a person based on the books on their shelves, which is fine and well unless they just buy them for show, right? Well we thought it would be fun to get to know us in a little different way, through our favorite winter holiday movies! Here’s what each of our bloggers picked as their top three flicks for Christmas, maybe you can add a few to your list…namely the original Grinch movie, because we apparently all love it.

Graesyn Fenix:

Yes, my top three are rated R for remove your children from the room…or maybe it means restricted, whatever.

At #3- The Ref (1994)- I don’t think it’s possible to like Denis Leary and not be madly in love with his movie from the mid 90’s, plus it’s got Kevin friggin Spacey in it! Haven’t seen it? Okay a quick rundown is two crooks take a family hostage over Christmas, and hilarity ensues. It’s wonderfully funny.

At #2- Lethal Weapon (1987)- Oh sure, you didn’t know this was a Christmas movie did you, well guess what, it is, it takes place in sunny Southern California though so no snow, unless you count the cocaine. This is the movie that started it all, and it’s before Mel Gibson went crazy in the bad way.

And at #1 Die Hard (1988)- “Come out to coast, we’ll get together, have a few laughs…” Another start to another really great series for anyone who enjoys explosions and expletives with their eggnog. This year’s watching will be a little bittersweet with the passing of Alan Rickman, but all the more reason to watch it. Really, if you haven’t seen it, you owe it to yourself to throw on this one, and while you’re at it the second one is also set during Christmas, so it’s my bonus offering.

AJGayJ:

3- A Muppet Christmas Carol (1992)- “Light the lamp, not the rat!” Though my family tradition is to watch this in July, and Muppet Treasure Island in December…I feel that either is a great movie for ANY time of year. I listed Christmas Carol, because we were all force fed this story so many times as kids, I never thought I’d actually be able to enjoy an interpretation. I was wrong…The Muppets were just what this story needed!

2- Scrooged (1988)- “The bitch hit me with a toaster!” Counterpoint. This retelling of Dickens’s classic is just twisted enough to be perfection! Bill freaking Murray, man…how can you go wrong?! With wonderful supporting roles brought to life by Carol Kane “Sometimes the truth is painful, Frank…”, Bobcat Goldthwait, Jamie Farr, David Johansen, Buddy Hackett, Alfre Woodard, Lee Majors, and MARY LOU RETTON…just to name a few.

Drum roll, please…

1- How the Grinch Stole Christmas! (1966)- “…the three words that best describe you are as follows, and I quote–Stink, STank, STUUUUNK!” I mean, really! Nothing puts me in the right frame of mind like Boris Karloff’s Bass driven perfection! Nothing! …and don’t even bring up the monstrosity that was the live action attempt…nothing touches the animated classic…nothing! This is the reason I have roast beast on holidays…Seuss is one of my favorite creators who ever lived, and this masterpiece is so right in my eyes that I cannot pick a favorite moment. Why would I?! Here…enjoy the best Christmas song ever, and try to tell me I’m wrong…I dare you! Mr. Griiiiinch

Ultra Wizard from the Planet Awesome Sauce:

Bronze – Home Alone 2: Lost in New York

I know, I know, the first Home Alone is the original… blah blah blah. And you’re like.. WTF, how can you forget the kid.. AGAIN??? But… this one has the creepy clown dancing in the shower which featured the stupid friggin’ Talkboy that I wanted so bad which I never got because let’s face it.. I would have used it for evil. The awesome toy shop that may or may not be haunted by a sweet old ghost man. And finally, abandoned house with Pigeon lady. Just.. Pigeon lady.. she’s basically me in a few years.

Silver – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

You’re a Wizard Harry, and there are people who actually care about you and think you’re a sweet dumb boy so let’s get you away from these asshats the Dursley for a while… Or something like that. Doesn’t count as a Christmas movie but I feel big wigs at the TV networks will beg to differ. Once they start the marathoning the Harrys, you know Tis be the Wizarding Season! But for the most part, all the Harry Potter movies kind of has a hint of the Holiday season for me. Sadly, even the final moments of Dobby… I’m not crying! You’re crying! Happy Christmas. 😐

Gold – Love Actually

Because I have a soul and some feels.. unlike some people… like my cohorts above. This is my go to, even though I know my life will never even for a tiny bit resemble the lives of the people featured in this movie. Clearly, because I am not English. Other than that.. it would have been set.. right? And even though I fast forward through some parts.. like the Red head’s weird awkward non-sex having scene (eye rolls so hard, eyes fall out of head), why even?.. ugh.. okay. I basically watch this when I want to curl up into a fetal position in my cave and watch other people’s happiness. I love you, Colin Firth..

Pixy’s Picks

3- How the Grinch Stole Christmas (1966) – “Maybe Christmas doesn’t come from a store.” Who doesn’t love this movie! Every year we spend an evening celebrating Grinchmas with green, Grinch themed snacks!

2- A Christmas Story (1983) “Fra-gee-lay, it must be Italian!” I love watching this one with the family. It’s a fantastic movie and teaches you not to lick the cold flag pole. Go watch it! I double dog dare you!

1- White Christmas (1954) – “In some ways you’re far superior to my cocker spaniel” I have always had a love of classic films and this is no exception. The blend of acting, dancing, singing and costumes is something we just don’t get in modern films. I love this classic and watch it every Christmas.

Sedirox’s Picks

3- Christmas With the Kranks (2004): This movie hits a little close to home because for some time now, my mother has been wanting to skip our tradition Christmas festivities in Ghana and spend a “White Christmas” in the States. Though her idea of wanting to skip Christmas will not draw the wrath of our neighbours, like Tim Allen endured in this flick.

2- The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993) : This movie is so much fun! Jack Skellington decides to mess with the natural order of things and wants to take over Christmas. Naturally, hijinks ensues with Santa getting kidnapped and kids having Halloween twice in one year.

1- How The Grinch Stole Christmas (1966): I know this movie has been mentioned multiple time but IT’S REALLY SPECIAL OKAY??? My sister and I have watched this movie almost every Christmas so far (skipped a couple years due to forgetfulness/life events) and it’s still as timeless as the first time we watched it.

Lbarbeto Picks

3- Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer (1964) –  I know it feels saccharin and overly sentimental but this movie has some great laughs and it has some profound lessons about accepting / embracing the differences in others and the importance of being true to yourself. So maybe 2016 should sit down and watch this little classic… I mean this was made in 1964, really people… Besides all of that I just love stop-motion, no digital process can quite capture the wonderful halting movement of the frame by frame adjustment of little models. Such craftsmanship, I’m looking at you as well Tim Burton and tipping my hat.

2- Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas! (1966) – Original Dr. Seuss cartoons are the best, they are short, clever, perfectly scripted and wonderful whimsical. The newer live action movies may be fun but they can’t hold a candle to the originals which were touched by the author themselves. I mean Boris Karloff narrated this one, it doesn’t get better than that and it’s hard to beat “Your a Mean One Mr. Grinch” which is such fun to sing and a holiday classic.

1- A Chirstmas Story (1983) – I know some people in my life hate this movie but those are the same people who love all those sappy Lifetime Christmas movie specials where magic wins the day and the heterosexual relationship ends in marriage. This movie however is about real people, real kids and real Christmas. My Mom loves this movie and we used to watch it every year, I love how in the end nothing works out and it doesn’t matter. Because there is no such thing as Christmas magic and it’s the people and love that we have which makes the holidays special, plus this movie is endlessly funny to me. I have also experienced having my mouth washed with soap and like Ralphie, was certain I was going to die from the treatment and that my parents would forever live with their guilt.

One thought on “Meet the Geeks: Our Favorite Christmas Movies

  1. Fine choices by all!
    Dear AJGayJ,
    That fine bass singer of “You’re a Mean One Mister Grinch” was not Boris Karloff. It was Thurl Ravenscroft, best known as the voice of Tony the Tiger on the cereal commercials (“They’re grrrRREAT!”)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

